Underwood Inspires

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

By: Gabby Wilson 

Wilma Rudolph once said, “Never underestimate the power of dreams and the influence of the human spirit. We are all the same in this notion: The potential for greatness lives within each of us.”  Being an athlete requires a person to have a winning mentality.  When I sat down with Northside freshman Travis Underwood, I understood what being an athlete truly means. 

Underwood was born with Spastic Diplegia Cerebral Palsy.  Cerebral Palsy is a group of chronic conditions affecting body movements and muscle coordination that is caused by damage to one or more specific areas of the brain, usually occurring during fetal development or infancy.  It is characterized by an inability to fully control motor function, particularly muscle control and coordination.  This condition is not “curable” in an accepted sense; however, therapy and applied technology can help those with Cerebral Palsy lead productive lives. 

Cerebral Palsy has taken a toll on Travis’ life, but he does not let that hinder his love for sports.  Talking to Travis gave me a better understanding of what playing sports is like for Travis, and I learned that he is everything an athlete should be and more.  When I asked Travis about his love for sports, he lit up with excitement.  “I love sports,” Underwood said.  “I have never allowed my disability to stop me from playing sports, and the Muscogee Lions have given me an opportunity that I never could have imagined having.”

The Northside football team welcomed Travis as their football manager when he was a freshman.  Travis describes his love for football by saying that, even though he is not able to participate, being the manager is just as satisfying.  “I still get to learn more, and help the players and coaches,” says Underwood.  “I loved getting to know the players throughout the season.  They are like a family to me, and I am so blessed to be a part of the team.”

Outside of school, Travis plays wheelchair basketball, handball, and football through Muscogee County’s adapted sports program.  He began playing with the Muscogee Lions in the 7th grade when he caught the game winning touchdown catch that won his team the State Championship.  At the time, Travis was the youngest player on the team, and now he is the oldest and enjoys being a leader for his fellow teammates.  This past year, Travis helped lead his handball team to be the state runners-up.

“Travis does not allow his disability to slow him down one bit, he will try almost anything,” says Gloria Brown, Muscogee Lions football and handball coach.  “He is a wonderful young athlete who sets positive examples for his teammates both on and off the court.”

When I asked Travis who his role model was, I did not know at the moment that I would be writing a list of names.  “My brother Caleb and my cousin Seth have always pushed me to never give up and of course my parents,” he began.  “Coach Brown, Coach Ingram, Coach Wilson, Coach Dee, and Coach Reid are important to me because they gave up their valuable time to help me and the Lions.  Mr. Brakefield deserves huge thanks from me because without him, I would not be where I am today.”

Travis’ passion and determination is contagious.  He is a wonderful young athlete who is an inspiration to all.  The Northside football program and the Muscogee Lions program would not be where they are today without him.

 

Posted on March 21, 2012, in Featured People, Northside News, The "Sport"light and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment